How to Disable Background App Refresh on iPhone & iPad | Win2Key

How to disable background app update on iPhone or iPad

Don't want iPhone or iPad apps to update or transfer data in the background when not in use? You can easily disable this feature in iOS.

If you are concerned that apps for the iPhone and iPad track you or transfer data when they are not being used, as discussed in a recently popular article in the Washington Post, the easiest way to prevent most of this activity is to disable the iOS feature called Background Update. ". If the background application update is disabled, iOS applications will not be updated or run in the background; instead, they will pause until they become active again directly on the screen. And as an added bonus for disabling the same feature, you may also notice that the battery lasts a little longer. Regardless of your motivation, we will show you how to turn off background app updates on your iPhone or iPad.


Apple claims that Background App Refresh “allows apps to update their content when they are on a Wi-Fi or cellular network in the background,” that is, when the app is not in use, but is still connected to the Internet connection. Disabling this feature on an iPhone or iPad is very simple, and most users probably won't even notice the difference between turning it off and on.

How to disable background app update on iPhone and iPad

If you want to disable the background application update on iOS, here is the option to disable:

  1. Open the Settings app in iOS
  2. Go to "General"
  3. Click on “Update Background Application”
  4. Set “Background App Refresh” to OFF to completely disable this feature.
  5. How to disable background app update on iPhone or iPad

  6. Output settings

As mentioned earlier, most users will not notice the difference when this feature is disabled. In any case, you may notice that the application is updated when you open or return to the application on the iPhone or iPad, which is not a big inconvenience.

On the other hand, you may notice that the battery of your device lasts longer, so this is frequent advice on battery life for iOS 12 and many previous versions of iOS, since the background application update feature debuted some time ago in iOS.

If you do this for privacy reasons, to prevent background activity that shares data about you or your device, for example, as mentioned in the aforementioned Washington Post article, then you can go ahead and check the privacy settings in iOS too, especially in the section Location Services. Many applications request permissions that they do not really need, but when making decisions about permissions, applications use common sense and fair judgment (for example, does the application require your location to draw to function? Hardly. A place to work? Almost certainly .). Most users should not however, completely disable Location Services, as this will disable some of the more convenient features of the iPhone (or iPad), such as Maps, directions from your current location, location reminders, and similar features that require location data to work. You can also monitor and control which applications have access to your photos on iOS, as well as other personal information and data on your device, through the “Application Settings”> “Privacy” section.

Note. Turning on the low power mode on the iPhone also temporarily turned off the background update of the application, so if you are trying to turn off or turn on this feature and cannot do this, it may be because the low power mode is on.

How to enable background app update in iOS

If you turned off this feature and decided that you want to turn on background activity again, this is how easy it is to turn it on:

  1. Open the Settings app
  2. Go to "General"
  3. Select “Background Application Update”
  4. Set “Application Update in Background” to enable
  5. If desired, you can manually configure the applications for which you want to disable the background update of the application.
  6. Exit Settings After Finishing

However, whether you use or do not use the background update of the application is entirely up to you. If you are concerned about reducing battery life or some theoretical basic data transfer when applications are not in use, turn it off. If you want your iOS apps to be updated when not in use, leave it on. You can configure this feature at any time on your iPhone or iPad.

Do you have any thoughts, opinions or advice about updating the background application for the iPhone or iPad? Share with us in the comments below!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.