ICloud backup recovery can be stopped at any time on new iOS devices. This means that if you decide to restore your iPhone, iPad or iPod touch from an iCloud backup, either when setting up a device with a previous iOS backup, or to restore a problem device as a troubleshooting method, you can stop iCloud Restore process at any time. This article explains how to stop restoring an iCloud backup on an iPhone, iPad or iPod touch.
Stopping iCloud recovery is usually not recommended and should not be taken lightly, as this can lead to data loss.
In rare cases, iCloud recovery may hang or the process takes so long that it is almost impossible to complete, so you may have to stop it as a troubleshooting method.
If you stop iCloud Restore from an iOS backup, all data that has not been recovered will not be restored on the device in the future, and missing data will not be backed up in the future, and therefore unrestored data may be lost forever if recovery cannot be completed.
In addition, stopping iCloud recovery on an iOS device does not provide any information about what information was or was not restored on an iPad, iPhone, or iPod touch. In other words, you won’t know which data was recovered and which didn’t; therefore, theoretically, you can skip photos, videos, notes, contacts, applications, application data, files, documents, or other important information by stopping iCloud Recovery.
How to stop iCloud recovery on iPhone or iPad
Warning: stopping iCloud Restore may result in data loss.
Open the Settings app in iOS
Click on “Your Name” at the top of the settings list to access the iCloud settings.
Next, click on "iCloud"
Now click on and select “iCloud Backup”
Click Stop iPad Repair (or Stop iPhone Repair)
Confirm that you want to stop the recovery from iCloud by clicking “Stop”.
As the final confirmation message shows, stopping iCloud Restore on the iPhone or iPad will stop loading data that has not yet been downloaded, and that the missing data will not be restored or saved in the future.
Currently, iOS does not provide a list of data that has been restored or has not yet been restored, and therefore, if you stop the recovery process from iCloud, you will have no idea what was restored or what was not. This is one of the many reasons why it is not recommended to stop the recovery of iCloud, since you can permanently lose data or other important things.
Generally speaking, it is recommended to allow the completion of the entire iCloud recovery process regardless of the scenario or the installation of a new iOS device from an earlier backup to iCloud or the restoration of a device for troubleshooting or any other purpose. Restoring iCloud can take a long time depending on the size of the backup being restored and the speed of the Internet connection to which the iPhone or iPad is connected. You may notice that the Current Recovery process depletes the battery of the newly configured iOS device, but it will stop after the backup is complete.
If you are going to stop restoring iCloud due to its hangup or for some other reason and, thus, you want to restart the full recovery of iCloud from the backup process, you can reset your iPhone to factory default settings or reset your iPad to factory settings. settings, and then during the new device setup, select again to restore the corresponding iOS backup, either from iCloud or from iTunes. If you use iCloud Restore, make sure you have a fast and reliable high-speed Internet connection.